Skip to content

Moving in and orientation

June 16, 2011

A few weeks ago I packed up my things and left with my parents for Washington, DC.  I was accepted into The Washington Center, a wonderful multi-faceted internship program that places you with an internship and supplements the experience with all kinds of events: meetings with Congressional leaders, lectures by esteemed politicians, networking opportunities with alumni, etc.  I was very excited to start off a summer in a fairly new city with no acquaintances!

I live in the Residential & Academic Facility, a brand new apartment complex which has been beautifully designed.  My apartment has an incredible kitchen (much better than a certain housing facility back at school!!) complete with cups, plates, silverware.. you name it!

The bedrooms are extremely nice, and for the first time I can say I have a walk in closet!  I was more excited for the huge closet than anything else in the apartment!

A room can't be complete without laptops!

A room can't be complete without laptops and Facebook!

I was eager and anxious to meet my new roommates.  Because I live fairly close to the Capitol, I kept assuming that the people who were in the TWC program were also people from the area.  As it turns out, my roommates were from Florida, Indiana, and Michigan!

Anticipation faded as I learned that I had some really interesting and great roommates.  Each girl seemed to have different passions in academics and extracurriculars that were interesting to learn about.  I room with student senate presidents, club presidents, and fellow history majors!  Not a bad group if you ask me!

The day after move-in was the first day for orientation.  TWC students split up into their programs (I am an International Affairs student) to go to their orientations.  So off I went following others who are far more navigation-abled than I (I admit I once got lost three blocks from my house when I was in high school) into the subway and on the streets to find our way to The World Bank.

After a fair number of minutes a huge swarm of interns made their way up to the top floor of The World Bank to have a meeting in the Board of Directors alternate conference room!  There’s a way to feel boss!  Immediately everyone fumbled around in their bags to get their cameras out.  We had to take pictures of this magnificent room with individual microphones for each person!  Pretty classy I must say :]

Sitting with a new friend looking like a boss

My original assumption of The World Bank was that it was in fact, just a bank.  I was blown away by the compassion of these workers and their desire to do good in the world!  The thing that makes The World Bank stand out so much is their consideration for “the larger picture”.  Case in point: take a troubled country that wants to start building a school for children.  Okay… so do you just give them money to start building schools? NO!  The World Bank looks at so many steps needed before the school can even come to fruition.  How will the children get there?  If they get there on foot (which is most likely), they’ll need dirt roads.  And if the children are typically in charge of collecting water all day, then new wells nearby need to be built!  It’s not just about the school for children– it’s about changing conditions so that all people can feel the benefits of development.

While we were there we watched a really moving video, which I would like to include as my final thought.  The video was called The Girl Effect, and it addresses the issues young girls who are forced to grow up because they have been impregnated.  Take a look at this video, and if it piques your interest, have a look at their website.  This is a cause everyone woman and every person regardless of gender should solve.

We can all do our part to help those who need a voice.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

