Skip to content

Entanglement

February 2, 2012

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

I’m feeling entangled in my research on entanglement.

At some point every thesis student is going to get caught in a whirlwind of stress and it just so happens that 100% of the students in my class feel exactly that way.

Last week I presented my first chapter to the professor and was told that while it was good, the focus needed to shift.  So essentially it means I have to rewrite about half of my introduction.  As you have seen from past posts my thesis is about the cultural legacy left behind in Austria after the Battle of 1683 fought against the Ottomans.  My professor told me that while the battle sets the stage for my thesis, the battle is not my focus.

Wait… what?

Yep, that’s right.  I have to write about an event that happened without really writing about the actual battle.  I suppose the physical battle must transition into a symbolic stage in which two forces fight… or as the professor says, get caught up in entanglement.

One thing is for certain: at my college we are given the ultimate blessing with amazing faculty and an amazing curriculum.  When all of us began our methods course last fall, sixty to eighty pages seemed impossible and almost offensive.  While we may only have written one chapter thus far, our professors have guided us in such a way that we have more confidence in our capabilities than ever before. We know that this is the stepping stone to graduate level work and are unique in this aspect.  The history programs at nearby colleges in my state are abysmal– senior students write twenty pages or less, if at all!  My college is small and distinctive and our academic outlook reflects that.  I’m proud of my college for pushing students beyond their own expectations and showing them what a monumental achievement they will attain once this process is over.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Marion Hussong permalink
    February 2, 2012 23:21

    Aaaah, you got the “redirect” from your advisor. I remember that moment well from my dissertation. It’s tiring and stressful, but ultimately for the best — these thesis advisors know what they are doing. Mine was right and Professor Lubenow is, too, I’m sure. Just keep going!

Leave a Reply

